A Little Background


I'm a thirty-something born, raised, and currently living in Michigan. This blog began in the spring of 2009 as the "memoirs of a law school wife" when my husband first started the process of applying to schools. That autumn, we moved 1320 miles south to Naples, Florida, so that my husband could attend the law school of his dreams at Ave Maria School of Law.

After three years of marriage and two years of law school, I gave birth to Abigail. When I was 28 weeks pregnant, we discovered she had a series of heart defects, and when she was born, we learned she had Down syndrome. Abigail underwent a successful open-heart surgery at two and a half months of age.


Matt graduated in May of 2012 and was offered a one-year fellowship with a company in downtown Chicago, the city that stole my heart. After a stint in the world's greatest mega-city, Matt was offered a position back in our home state of Michigan, where we had our second daughter, Eleanor, and our first son, Theodore.


I've used my Bachelor of Arts in English from Michigan State University to work as a freelance writer, editor, and designer, but we're blessed enough now that I can be a stay-at-home mom.

I am a devout Roman Catholic, very much in love with my husband and little girls. I enjoy reading, writing, hiking, biking, kayaking, crocheting, and knitting. I like history, psychology, and geography. I have no idea where life is going to take us, but I sure hope we end up back in Chicago with a house of our own and a couple of stories to tell.

1 comment:

The.Baroness.Von.Korf said...

To bad you live far far away. I'm really getting into meeting up with awesome bloggers. You seem pretty awesome. I'd also love to meet Abigail. I'm a Speech Path and I just love hanging out with special needs people in general but especially kids. I enjoy it even more when I don't have to be doing therapy with them. :)